Orb Podcast 012: Kick Bong

Franck Jousselin best known for his project Kick Bong is a musician, performer, and composer based in Paris, France. At the age of 12, he started to develop his passion for drums and percussions, which resulted in forming his first band with whom he performed in many live concerts and tours around Europe during the ‘90s. Franck used to play in a lot of different bands, like Romy & Les Gateaux Secs, Serious Bass, Marabunta, Secret Vibes, Sandman, and Triptone, his other project. In 1995, he started to get engaged in producing electronic music and eventually in 2000 he started his main project Kick Bong.

Kick Bong released his debut full-length album, A Cup of Tea, in 2005 on Ultra Vista Records. Even though for the next three years he did not release any albums, he was still engaged in different compositions that were released on various compilations with several European labels such as Spirit Zone, Candyflip, Peak, Chillcode, Cosmicleaf, Hadra, Ajana, and Blue Hour Sounds.

In 2008, he released his second album Flower Power in collaboration with Cosmicleaf Records. After the great success of the album, Kick Bong continued his work with the Greek-based record label Cosmicleaf Records with another six full-length albums, including the last one in 2016, Destiny. Kick Bong is known for composing soundtracks for Démarches de Rues, a street-art documentary by the Confluent Association, as well as for companies such as Dior and Eden Park.

For this week’s Orb podcast, Kick Bong delivers a 60-minute journey into downtempo as a reflection of his musical side, consisting of artists such as Bonobo, Tripswitch, Tom Cosm, Saafi Brothers and more.

01. Bonobo – Second Sun
02. Saafi Brothers – Dub No.9 (Tripswitch Remix)
03. Rising Galaxy – Butterflies
04. Dense & Fourth Dimension – Prospectors (Kick Bong Remix)
05. Kick Bong & Squazoid – Science Mission
06. Dense – Save Me
07. In’R’Voice – Love Electrocution
08. Kick Bong – Space Cat
09. Kick Bong & Squazoid – The Seven Planets
10. Pitch Black – Without The Trees (Tom Cosm Twitch Itch Remix)